Solo Open 2015 

The page for the 2015 Solo Open is now up and running follow the link below for the Notice of Race Sailing Instructions and Entry Form.

Solo Open Information

[ view entry ] ( 372 views )   |  permalink
So what’d you do for half term Julia? 

“Not much went down to Spain beat about 500 other kids collected some Prizes came home”. CYC’s Oppie Queen Julia Mellers forsook the chilly weather and headed for the Costa Brava and the 26th Palamos Trophy regatta which forms part of the Oppies Nations Cup series. Julia led a 20 strong GBR contingent to do battle with 530 sailors from around the world claiming 3rd overall. Arthur Fry also put up a good showing taking a 9th to add to his win in Vigo in November.

[ view entry ] ( 302 views )   |  permalink
Forget Fed Week check out Race Week 

The Chichester Harbour Race Week (the new name for Fed Week) website is now live follow the link below for all your Race week info.

Race Week Info

[ view entry ] ( 238 views )   |  permalink
Champagne sailing for Snowflake 5&6 

© Paula Olliff 2015

Once again 60 boats turned out on the 8th of February to sample the glorious winter sunshine served up for the midway weekend of Chichester YC’s Snowflake series. Unfortunately, a light and faltering northerly breeze and a large dredger limiting the size of the racing area took a little of the fizz out of the champagne conditions. In both races Race Officer Pete Harrison set the fast and medium fleets a trapezoid course with an outer loop while the slow fleet contested an inner triangle.
In race 5 of the series the Merlins re-established their dominance taking five of the first six places with Frensham’s Nick Craig and Alan Roberts first over Shoreham’s Sophie Mackley and James Warren and William Warren and Mark Oakley with series leaders David and Fiona Sayce relegated to fifth.

Meanwhile in the Medium fleet it was a battle of the singlehanders with Emsworth’s Richie Bailey once again taking line honours but this time able to save time on the rest of the fleet to keep the top spot on corrected time over the duelling Solos of Hayling’s Nick Peters and Chichester’s Mark Harper.

The slow fleet numbers were reduced, perhaps due to the impact of early half term breaks, to a match race between the Feva XL of Emsworth’s Alexandra Sosens and Julia Martin and the Felpham’s Finlay Swanton in his Topper with the ladies carrying the day in race 5 with the results reversed in race 6.

In the Medium fleet the fight for the spoils again saw Bailey and Peters duking it out for the top spot before Bailey again carried the day while Chichester’s Lucy Boreham in her Europe moved into third. Race 6 in the fast fleet could have been devided into the Merlins and everyone else with the Rocketeers taking the first five places though this time Warren and Oakley took first with Parkstone’s Richard Whitworth and Clloe Brennal in second and Craig and Roberts having to settle for third. Manoeuvre of the day prize goes to Derek Jackman (returning to the fray after a long post op lay off) who conclusively proved that a Solo does not go as quick if it's carrying a Laser.

[ view entry ] ( 280 views )   |  permalink
Attend the Dinghy Show for free!......almost.... 

CYC members will be on the Chichester Yacht Club stand throughout the weekend to promote Chichester Harbour as a sailing area as well as promoting Chichester Yacht Club as a great sailing club!

Why not join the CYC team of volunteers and come to the Dinghy Show to promote CYC to prospective members. In return for a (flexible!) few hours on the stand CYC can provide a free ticket- giving you plenty of time to look round the show.

Just email the office if you are interested with which day you can make – and we’ll be in touch!

More details here

[ view entry ] ( 254 views )   |  permalink
60 Boats come to the line for Snowflake  
60 boats came under starters orders for the third and fourth races in Chichester Yacht Club’s Snowflake series. A number of issues with support boats forced Race Officer Gideon Ewers to use a modified club line start. Thankfully, a helpful westerly breeze meant that the fleets were able to start into a reasonable beat for the first leg of the trapezoid course. In the fast fleet, Hayling’s David and Fiona Sayce celebrated their return to Fireball sailing taking the honours on the water as well as on corrected time securing a 14 second advantage over the Merlin of Mark Waterhouse and Matt Currell from Parkstone with Shoreham’s Alex Jackson and Frances Gifford in third.

Meanwhile, in the Medium fleet 40 boats made for an interesting start line with a number of competitors gaining an new understanding of the intricacies of Rule 20 at the inshore end of the line. It was evident that the middle and pin ends of the line paid the dividends with Emsworth’s Richie Bailey breaking into clear air and the lead which he retained for the duration of the race only to be relegated to third on corrected time behind the Solo of Hayling’s Ian Barnett and the 2000 of Emsworth’s Jonathan Townsend and Barbara Langford.

The slow fleet were dispatched around a triangular course that proved to be to the liking of Warsash’s Sally Lorimer and Pippa Jones coming home clear ahead of Chichester’s Isabel Porter in second and Finlay Swanton from Felpham in third. The Mirror girls carried this form into the fourth race again taking the chocs ahead of Porter’s Topper with Emsworth’s Georgina Cosena and Bella Coote taking third in their Pico.

In Medium fleet, many learned the lessons from race three electing to use the pin end of the start with a number of boats looking to have jumped the gun in the final seconds before the start though in the end only one fell foul. Once again, Bailey was quick to establish his dominance over the fleet on the water only to be denied on corrected time this time by the GP14 of Chichester’s Nick & Biddy Colbourne with Felpham’s Guy Mayger taking third. While in the Fast fleet the racing was again a fight between the Fireballs and Merlins for the honours although this time the spoils went to Jackson & Gifford’s Merlin with reigning Fireball National & European champs Chichester’s Sam Mettram and Richard Anderton in second just ahead of Shoreham’s Sophie Mackley & James Warren in their Merlin.

[ view entry ] ( 221 views )   |  permalink

| 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | 10 | Next> Last>>